• 2013 QCB Graduates


    David Botstein moves to Professor Emeritus status. Mike Levine is appointed the new LSI Director, joining Princeton from the University of California at Berkeley. Levine has made seminal contributions toward the understanding of gene expression and gene regulatory networks in the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster and the sea squirt Ciona intestinalis. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, received the Wilbur Cross Medal from Yale University in 2009, and the Edwin Grant Conklin Medal from the Society of Developmental Biology in 2015.

  • Research at LSI


    QCB Graduate Program approved as a Ph.D. degree-granting program.

  • Lewis-Sigler Institute Building


    The Graduate Program in Quantitative and Computational Biology is formed as umbrella program for interdisciplinary graduate education that crosses multiple science and engineering departments; an NIH NHGRI training grant is awarded to David Botstein to support the program.

    A revolutionary new Integrated Science Curriculum (ISC) is introduced for undergraduates to provide students with first-rate preparation for a major in any of the core scientific disciplines, and in such a way that helps retain the connections to the other disciplines.

    Through the NIH NIGMS National Centers for Systems Biology program, a Center for Quantitative Biology is established, with David Botstein as the Principal Investigator.

  • Inside Lewis-Sigler Institute Building


    David Botstein is appointed as Director, replacing Shirley Tilghman, who became President of Princeton University.

    The construction of the Carl Icahn Laboratory building is completed.

  • Research at LSI


    Construction begins on the Carl Icahn Laboratory, with funding through a gift from Carl Icahn ’57.

  • Research at LSI


    The Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics is founded, through a gift from Peter B. Lewis ’55, to create innovative research and teaching programs at the interface of modern biology and the more quantitative sciences. Shirley Tilghman is appointed as the founding director.