The Institute consists of 12-15 research groups, including faculty and LSI Fellows. All tenured and tenure-track faculty in the Institute have appointments in one of the university's departments; among them are molecular biology, ecology and evolutionary biology, physics, chemistry, computer science, and chemical and biological engineering, and potentially others. 

We also have an LSI Faculty Affiliates program. The LSI Affiliates interact closely with LSI faculty through collaborations and participate in various LSI activities, strengthening our connections to other departments across campus and broadening our research program. Our LSI affiliates are Barbara Engelhardt (Computer Science), Curtis Callan (Physics), Tom Muir (Chemistry), Howard Stone (Electrical Engineering), Cliff Brangwynne (Chemical and Biological Engineering), and Ileana Cristea (Molecular Biology).